For my last high school play, I will be performing as the Mock Turtle in Alice in Wonderland. 

Now I personally have never heard of the Mock Turtle. However, apparently this turtle character is condescending, gloomy, and prone to emotional outbursts.

Perfect for me.

Now I am not one prone to emotional outbursts per se, but I am certainly apt to completely overthink situations. Recently, I fought with a friend over what I perceived as her leaving me behind and purposely ditching me for other people. While I was wrong about that situation, I was not wrong about the fact that she has built strong friendships with people who aren’t me and that I’m not necessarily included in those friendships. I have to be okay with that.

I’m still learning to be okay with that.

Spending less time with this particular friend has given me a lot of time to build other friendships, which has been an interesting experience in my last semester of high school. But after taking some time to try and just enjoy life without overthinking, I have felt at peace with the situations. I’m a random turtle? Okay, then I’ll be the best darn turtle you’ve ever seen. My friends are doing stuff without me? Okay, I won’t whine about it. I’ll just make more of an effort to be a good friend and not withdraw, as I tend to do.

Life is messy and I’m still learning, but I have a great God who is patient in my failures.

 

